top of page
Search

Collecting Vinyl Records: NOT a Thing of the Past

Is this post going to talk about the importance of music? Absolutely not because that, my friends, should be common sense. Instead, I want to touch on something personally dear to me - my vinyl record collection.


I started collecting records two years ago on my birthday when I received my first record player as a present from my parents. Little did I know then, but that present would lead me to find an incredibly fond and interesting hobby of mine that I would see so much joy in. What makes record collecting so fun for me? Let me briefly share the beauty of it all.



The Artwork that Comes With the Record is A+

While most of the time, artists like to keep artwork for their respective albums consistent across the board, sometimes they like to switch things up a bit when it comes to records. Additionally, some of the records come in a few unique colors other than classic black such as electric yellow, lime green, blood red, etc. Dear Evan Hansen, which is one of my favorite albums overall and first record of mine, is blue - that one makes a really great conversation starter!


Building a Neat Connection With Family Members/Relatives is A+

Even though I just recently started collecting records, my dad is the ultimate champ in the family for record collecting! He has easily over 70 records, and even has some original classics...that he so ever graciously let me borrow (maybe if you're lucky, your relative will just give it to you!).


Make a Personal Statement is A+

Let's face the facts...everyone is silently judged for their music taste. Having a constantly growing collections of records 100% defines who you are as a musicophile; embrace your music taste!


Preserving Record Collecting for the Future is A+

Records were huge back in the day and sadly disappeared, but are NOW BACK! Let's make sure they stay this time. This is an unsaid agreement between all records collectors...I am positive. Even though there are thousands and thousands of copies of some records, if it is in your collection, if is your duty to protect it. One of my goals in the future is to teach my children to value records so that they may teach their children to value records and so on. The worst fear is the thought of our records being sold!


Being Proud of Your Collection is A+

Having pride for a collection of record is huge...we are indeed proud of our record collecting efforts (I mean, why do you think we proudly display them on massive shelves?)! We love being known as people who obsessively collect records by talking about them a lot and often. A record collector's physical collection is a symbol for their love of music. In a way, the records collected can be compared to trophies - whether you found it at Walmart, dug through a dumpster, or searched countless record stores - you proudly display that baby with no regrets.

 

Has a lot of my money gone into my record collection? Absolutely.

Have I spent a lot of my time looking for records? Absolutely.

Would I change that for any other hobby? Absolutely not.

28 views0 comments
bottom of page